Multiple Teams · Spring Sports Info


We are looking forward to the start of a great Spring Sports Season! Go Falcons!

The spring sports season officially starts on Monday, January 27, 2020. Ben Lippen offers baseball (MS-V), softball (JV & V), golf (V), boys tennis (JV & V), boys & girls soccer (JV & V) and track (MS & V) for students in grades 6 through 12 during the spring sports season. All students interested in participating in an athletic program for the 2019-20 school year are required to complete the online athletic registration through Family ID (if you haven’t already). The registration includes selecting the sports your student-athlete wants to play, uploading the athlete’s physical form dated after April 1, 2019, signing several waivers and required SCISA forms. If your son or daughter already participated in a fall or winter sport – you do not need not register again. BUT, please be sure the spring sport they want to play is selected in their Family ID registration. You can check this by logging into your Family ID registration. The Family ID registration must be completed prior to taking part in any try-outs, practices and/or workouts at Ben Lippen. General information for each spring sport is below.

All tryouts, practices, game times, and locations are subject to change. Please contact the coach directly for sport-specific questions. If your son or daughter is participating in a winter sport, they must complete their season with the winter sport before participating in a spring sport. Please be sure to have your son or daughter let the spring coach know they would like to participate after they conclude their winter sport.

Baseball
Varsity Coach: Matt Padgett (Email: mattpadgett34@yahoo.com)
JV Coach: Matt Deans (Email: mattdeans25@outlook.com) & David Metts (Email: dmetts14@gmail.com)
MS Coach: Michael brewer (Email: Brewerhomessc@yahoo.com) and Ray McElveen (Email: raymack21@aol.com)
Grades: 6-12
Practice Times: M-F 3:45-5:45 pm
Tryouts: Boys Grades 6-12   Jan 27 & Jan 28: 3:45 pm – 5:45 pm
Location: BLS baseball field

Softball
Varsity Coach: David Abbott (Email: avidabbott2010@gmail.com) & Christy Cox
JV Coach: Bryan Jones (Email: bryansjones@hotmail.com)
Grades: 6-12
Practice Times:
V will practice on non-varsity sports days 3:30 pm – 5:00 pm and JV will practice M-F 3:30 pm – 5:00 pm (as we get more daylight practices will go longer)
Tryouts: Girls Grades 6-12  Jan 27 & 28: 3:30 pm – 4:45 pm
Location: BLS softball field

Soccer Boys
Varsity Coach: Asher Quave-Robinson (Email: asherqr@gatewayfc.net) & Paul Grandacarpio
Boys JV Coach: Dominick Shleinitz & Corey Thompson
Grades: 6-12
Practice Times: 3:40 -5:40 pm
Tryouts: Boys Grades 6-12  Jan 27 – 30: 3:40 pm – 6:00 pm
Location: BLS soccer field & practice field

Soccer Girls
Varsity Coach: Gian Ortega, Esther Edwards, & Asher Quave-Robinson (Email: asherqr@gatewayfc.net)
Girls JV Coach: Esther Edwards
Grades: 6-12
Practice Times: 3:40 -5:40 pm
Tryouts: Girls Grades 6-12  Jan 27 – 30: 3:40 pm – 6:00 pm
Location: BLS soccer field & practice field

Golf Varsity
Coach: Ted Dunn (Email: ted.dunn00@gmail.com)
Grades: 6-12
Practice Times: Tues & Thurs at Linrick Golf Course, 356 Cam Ground Rd, Columbia SC 29203
Golf Information Meeting: Mon, Jan 27 in Ben Lippen cafeteria (no tryouts)

Tennis – Boys
Varsity Coach: Joel Benefield (Email: joel.benefield@benlippen.com)
JV Coach: Dave Mitchell
Grades: 6-12
Practice Times: M- F at Saluda Shoals 4:00 pm – 6:00 pm
Tryouts: Boys Grades 6-12  Feb 19 & 20: 4:00 pm – 6:00 pm
Location: Saluda Shoals, 6071 St Andrews Rd, Columbia SC 29212

Track & Field
Varsity Coach: Eric Hamner (Email: eric.hamner@benlippen.com), John Sparks, & Mary Clay
JV Coach: Amy Mason (Email: amymason3@gmail.com)
Grades: 6-12
Practice Times: M-F 3:30 pm – 5:30 pm (mandatory practices start Jan 27 – excused absences from practice reserved for important events)
No tryouts – mandatory practices start Jan 27.

Spring Athletic Game Schedules for teams will be posted on www.benlippensports.com as they become available (early February). Game dates and times are subject to change, so please review weekly, during the sports season.

If you have questions, please contact the coach or the Athletics Operations Manager, Kelly Werner at 803-807-4197 or kelly.werner@benlippen.com.

We thank you for your continued support and prayers for Ben Lippen Athletics!

Be sure to follow us on Instagram, Twitter, Facebook @benlippensports. Also, during the season be sure to review our website sports schedules weekly for schedule changes & updates at www.benlippensports.com.

Go Falcons!
To God be the Glory, BLS Athletic Department